Healthy Eating. Healthy Living.

I really want to eat healthy, but I don’t really do well with all that food preparation. So, I like cheat recipes OR I just do really badly and we just eat out, which is unhealthy AND expensive. So, I am going to try my hardest to plan out a weekly menu. Probably the most preparation I’m going to get is a trip to the grocery store, which is a hassle. I work fairly long hours and I would rather go to the grocery store after work than get out of my pajamas on the weekends and go to the store. It is what it is.

This week’s menu:

Monday: Stuffed Bell Peppers
Tuesday: Steak!
Wednesday: Holy Yum Chicken with green beans and tomatoes
Thursday: Mini Brie en Croute with Caesar salad
Friday: Oven Fried Fish with snow peas

Did anyone else watch football this weekend because my Saturdays are pretty much an all-day-football-watching affair. Unfortunately, it left today for grocery shopping.

Went to the Winn-Dixie with a budget and a list. Blew the budget. Blew the list. I’m going to have to work on that… Did get everything I needed without spending all my money, but I didn’t even make it to the meat shop until later. Our local butcher shop has 5 for $19.99 specials as well as bundles. Our 5 picks were ground beef, ground pork sausage, 2 steaks (in one package), thick cut bacon, and something else that I can’t recall. I bought some pork chops at Dinn-Wixie that were BOGO, so our meat is pretty well covered for the week or a bit.

My planning also included cooking my lunch for this week. I chose this Buttery Tomato Sauce with angel hair pasta. I have tried a few of these different sauces and I love them! I will lick the bowl if I’m not in mixed company.

thumb_IMG_5230_1024

thumb_IMG_5232

Also, planning to make some breakfast burritos to freeze, but I’m already running out of energy for this preplanning business.

How do people do it?!

Leave a comment